Jordan To Receive Presidential Medal Of Freedom (2016-11-17 16:26:33)

WASHINGTON — President Barack Obama named former North Carolina guard Michael Jordan as among 21 people he plans to recognize with the nation’s highest civilian honor, the Presidential Medal of Freedom. Jordan will join his mentor, former Tar Heel head coach Dean Smith, as recipients of the award. Smith won the award in 2013.


Many consider Jordan to be the greatest basketball player of all-time, and he was enshrined in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in 2009. ESPN named him the Greatest Athlete of the 20th Century, and he was named the Atlantic Coast Conference's No. 1 Male Athlete in the league's first 50 years. He was a consensus All-America in 1983 and 1984.  He won the Sporting News National Player of the Year award as a sophomore and was the unanimous National Player of the Year in 1984.

Jordan was the third overall selection by the Chicago Bulls in the 1984 Draft, eventually leading the Bulls to six NBA championships.  He was a five-time NBA MVP (1988, 1991, 1992, 1996, 1998), a 10-time All-NBA selection, anine-year all-defensive team choice, a six-time NBA Finals MVP and a three-time All-Star game MVP.  He led NBA in scoring a record 10 times, and is now the owner of the Charlotte Hornets.

Obama also plans to honor fellow basketball player Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, longtime Los Angeles Dodgers broadcaster Vin Scully, actors Robert DeNiro, Cicely Tyson, Tom Hanks and Robert Redford and entertainers Ellen DeGeneres, Diana Ross and Bruce Springsteen.

Other honorees are philanthropists Bill and Melinda Gates, polymath physicist Richard Garwin, architect Frank Gehry, designer Maya Lin, “Saturday Night Live” producer Lorne Michaels, attorney Newt Minow, mathematician and computer scientist Margaret H. Hamilton, and Eduardo Padrón, president of Miami Dade College in Florida.

Posthumous honors will go to Native American advocate Elouise Cobell and Rear Adm. Grace Hopper.


Lenoir-Rhyne Women's Basketball Wins Season Opener

Hickory, N.C. - The Lenoir-Rhyne Women's Basketball Team (1-0) kicked off the 2016-17 season in convincing fashion with a 71-29 win over Warren Wilson (4-2) Wednesday evening at Shuford Memorial Gymnasium.

Lenoir-Rhyne was led by sophomore forward Madi Suddreth (Taylorsville, N.C.) with a game-high 16 points while senior center Chelsey Romero (Hampton, Va.) added eight points and 12 rebounds as the Bears held a 70-28 advantage in rebounding and held the Owls to just three points in both the second and fourth periods in the victory.

Warren Wilson was led by Danasia Dumas (Mount Gilead, N.C.) with 14 points and four rebounds while Jada McCrimmon (North Wilkesboro, N.C.) scored five points but the Owls were held to just 19 percent shooting (11-of-57) for the game.

Senior forward Alecia Bell (Newport News, Va.) added eight points and seven rebounds off the bench for the Bears, who outscored the Owls by 20 points in the fourth and final period to turn the contest into a rout.

Twelve players scored for Lenoir-Rhyne, who also blocked six shots on the night and broke a school record for rebounds in a game. The previous mark was 66 against UNC Charlotte on February 6, 1978.

Lenoir-Rhyne opens South Atlantic Conference play on Tuesday, November 22, at 4:00 p.m., against Wingate in Wingate, N.C. Warren Wilson faces Alice Lloyd College on the road on Saturday in Pippa Passes, Kentucky.


Lenoir-Rhyne Men's Basketball Prevails In Double Overtime

Salisbury, N.C. - The Lenoir-Rhyne University Men's Basketball Team (2-1, 1-0) opened South Atlantic Conference play with a thrilling, 106-98 victory in double overtime over Catawba (2-1, 0-1) Wednesday evening at Goodman Gymnasium.

Senior guard Darrion Evans (Morganton, N.C.) came off the bench to score a team-high 25 points while junior guard Billy Bales (Elizabethton, Tenn.) added 20 points and six treys as the Bears rallied from a 14-point deficit - 62-48 with 7:56left in the second half - to force overtime and eventually take the win.

Catawba's Jameel Taylor (Anderson, S.C.) led all scorers with 29 points while K.J. Arrington (Newport News, Va.) added a double-double - 23 points and 13 rebounds - as the Indians suffered their first loss of the year.

Arrington hit a jump shot as the clock expired in the second half to force overtime with the contest tied at 78 before Evans forced the game into a second overtime with a pair of free throws with six seconds left.

In the second extra stanza, the Bears used a 9-0 run and hit eight free throws in the frame to pull away with the win.

Lenoir-Rhyne freshman Jalen Variste (Baton Rouge, La.) added 19 points and senior forward JacQues Chambers (Mayesville, N.C.) finished with eight points and a game-high 16 rebounds as the Bears won their second straight game.

Catawba's Jerrin Morrison (Charlotte, N.C.) also tallied a double-double - 20 points and 13 rebounds - but the Indians hit just seven-of-32 three-point attempts (22 percent) and turned the ball over 19 times in the loss.

Lenoir-Rhyne remains on the road to face Wingate on Tuesday, November 22, at6:00 p.m., in Wingate, N.C., while Catawba hosts Belmont Abbey Saturdayafternoon at 4:00 p.m.

Photo Courtesy: Michael Jordan, PHOTO SUBMITTED