Greene, Habich Earn NWC Honors (2018-12-01 17:26:59)

BOONE - The Watauga High football team capped off its memorable season with a league-leading 14 all-Northwestern Conference selections.

On top of that, senior Jackson Greene was named the NWC Player of the Year. Greene, who stepped in at quarterback in WHS' season opener after starter Anderson Castle went down with a broken arm, put up big numbers for the Pioneers in 2018

He led the Pioneers with five interceptions, including a pick six. He also had 59.5 tackles, which includes 46 solo stops, seven pass breakups three tackles-for-loss, and two fumble recoveries.

Offensively, Greene started six games at quarterback. He ran for 649 yards with six touchdowns. He also completed 58 percent of his passes for 612 yards with seven TD passes and an interceptions. He also caught three passes for 89 yards with two TDs.

WHS coach Ryan Habich was named NWC Coach of the Year for the third time. Habich is 56-20 since taking over the program in 2013. Habich is 106-34 in his career.

Freedom had 12 all-NWC selections, Alexander Central had 10. Quarterback Jayden Birchfield of the Patriots was named the Offensive Player of the Year; Isaac Chapman of the Cougars was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Northwestern 3A/4A Athletic Conference, Inc.
2018 Football Results Release Date: 12/1/18
Final Standings:
Team Conf Rec. Overall Rec.
1. Watauga 7 / 0 11 / 0
2. Freedom 6 / 1 8 / 2
3. Alexander Central 4 / 2 8 / 2
4. Hickory TIE 3 / 4 /
4. St. Stephens TIE 3 / 4 4 / 7
6. McDowell TIE 2 / 5 4 / 7
6. South Caldwell TIE 2 / 5 3 / 8
8. West Caldwell 0 / 8 0 / 11

Conference Champion: Watauga Pioneers

All Conference:
Alexander: Jaden Houston                                      Freedom: Jayden Birchfield
AJ Miller                                                                             Day Day Burgess
Marterion Howell                                                                Desmond Caldwell
Lucas Walker                                                                     Austin Lowery
Tray Lackey                                                                      Day Day Roddy
Isaac Chapman                                                                    Jee Hardy
Josh Miller                                                                          CJ Hayden
Tevin Clark                                                                      Jacob Dembski
Jordan Brown                                                                    Kevin Hover
Nick McNeely                                                                    James Boyd
                                                                                       Damien Dula
                                                                                      Cam Silvers

McDowell: Adam Randolph
Andruw Randolph
JC Olivo
Andrew Davis

West Caldwell: Isaiah Helms
Spencer Hadley

Watauga: Kyran Densham                                               South: Samuel Craig
Zach West                                                                               Spencer Piercy
Jake Watson                                                                           Trever Johnson
Eli Suggs                                                                                Austin Raynor
Anderson Castle
Bryce Satterfield
Sterling Sauls
Jaiden Bond                                                                           St. Stephens: Zach Lee
Jackson Greene                                                                                         Salvador Gilvaja
Ben Critcher                                                                                             Jordan Bolling
Grant Oliver                                                                                             Chance Benfield
Eli Bentley                                                                                              Nathaniel Vera
Sam Sappington                                                                                       Xavian King
Braeden Myers                                                                                          Luis Ugalde
                                                                                                               Blake Baker
Hickory: Bryce Stober
Jaylyn Harper
Greyson Linebarger
Davis Amos
Cody Young
Harrison Boston
Malcolm Eley
Zae Huitt
Tristan Rankin

Offensive Player of the Year: Jayden Birchfield Freedom

Defensive Player of the Year: Isaac Chapman Alexander Central

Special Teams Player of the Year: Harrison Boston Hickory

Player of the Year: Jackson Greene Watauga

Coach of the Year: Ryan Habich Wataug