Bracket unveiled for 2018 Sun Belt Volleyball Championship (2018-11-12 14:28:48)

NEW ORLEANS – The official bracket for the 2018 Sun Belt Conference Volleyball Championship was announced by the league late Sunday night. The tournament will be held Nov. 15-18 inside GSU Sports Arena in Atlanta, with Georgia State serving as hosts.

Texas State (24-6, 15-1 Sun Belt) will be the No. 1 overall seed for the first time since joining the league. The Bobcats are one of two teams to earn double byes into the semifinals of the event, and they are set to begin their quest for a postseason championship at 4 p.m. Nov. 17. The maroon and gold will face either No. 4 Little Rock, No. 5 UT Arlington or No. 8 Troy.

The Mavericks and Troy will meet in the tournament’s opening round at 6:30 p.m. Nov. 15. That winner advances to the quarterfinals for a date with Little Rock at 6:30 p.m. Nov. 16. The team that advances from that match will earn the right to face the Bobcats in the semifinals.

No. 2 Appalachian State headlines the other half of the draw. The Mountaineers will await the team that advances out of the trio of No. 3 Coastal Carolina, No. 6 Arkansas State and No. 7 South Alabama.

The championship match will begin at noon Nov. 18. The winner of the tournament will earn the Sun Belt’s automatic bid into the 2018 NCAA Championship.

Texas State enters the postseason on the heels of claiming its first regular-season crown since winning the 2011 Southland Conference Championship. The Bobcats are seeking their first conference tournament title since winning the 2013 Sun Belt Championship. TXST has now advanced to the semifinals in all six years since joining the league. The Bobcats lost in the finals last season.


Thursday, November 15 (First Round)

Match 1: #7 South Alabama vs. #6 Arkansas State 4 pm

Match 2: #8 Troy vs. #5 UT Arlington 6:30 pm


Friday, November 16 (Quarterfinals)

Match 3: Match 1 winner vs. #3 Coastal Carolina 4 pm

Match 4: Match 2 winner vs. #4 Little Rock 6:30 pm


Saturday, November 17 (Semifinals)

Match 5: Match 3 winner vs. #2 Appalachian State 1:30 pm

Match 6: Match 4 winner vs. #1 Texas State 4 pm


Sunday, November 18 (Championship)

Match 7: Match 5 winner vs. Match 6 winner Noon