Warriors Win Tournament Title.... (2017-12-20 15:29:53)

The Watauga Warriors 5th grade girls basketball team played their first tournament of the 2017-2018 in Winston-Salem, N.C., at the Bond Ballers Shootout.

The Watauga Warriors went 3-0 on the day to collect their first tournament championship of the season. The Warriors won all three games by double figures, by an average margin of victory of twenty points, and holding their opponents to an average of six points per game.

The Warriors first game was against the Davey Thunder. The Warriors over came a sluggish start and built a 16-4 halftime lead. A quick start to the second half saw the Warriors build a 20-point lead, forcing a running clock for the rest of the game. The Warriors pulled away to win 30-7. Kate Sears led the Warriors in scoring with 14 points. Laney Shook also scored in double figures with 12 points. Kaitlyn Darner and Logan Frierson each scored 2 points.

The Warriors belted the Pilot Press 20-9 in their second game. It was 16-3 at halftime. The Warriors also handed the Press its first loss in tournament play. Sears led the Warriors in scoring with 13 points. Shook added 4 points, while Sienna Davidson scored two points and Darner added 1 point.

The Warriors won the championship by curshing the Surry Stars 28-2 in the finals. The Warriors utilized a full court press to quickly put away the Stars. Sears and Shook each scored 10 points to lead the Warriors in scoring. Darner added 6 points and Davidson also added 2 points.

The Warriors received significant contributions from Malone Mencis, Madelyn Trexler, and Mattie Durham in the tournament as well. The Warriors will be back in action in January 2018 as they plan to play in eight to nine tournaments this season.

Picture from L to R – Front Row – Mattie Durham, Sienna Davidson, Kaitlyn Darner, Madelyn Trexler Back Row – Malone Mencis, Logan Frierson, Kate Sears, Laney Shook




Green Valley - 32, Valle Crucis - 12
Parkway - 29, Cove Creek - 4
Parkway - 47, Cove Creek - 11
Valle Crucis - 48 , Green Valley - 13
Eight Mountaineers Make Phil Steele's First-Team All-Sun Belt
BOONE, N.C. — Appalachian State had a league-leading eight first-team selections on Phil Steele's 2017 Postseason All-Sun Belt Team that was revealed Tuesday.
The first-team honorees for the Mountaineers, who earned a share of the Sun Belt title and will face Toledo in the Dollar General Bowl on Saturday, were running back Jalin Moore, offensive lineman Colby Gossett, offensive lineman Beau Nunn, offensive lineman Victor Johnson, defensive lineman Tee Sims, defensive back Clifton Duck and long snapper Elias McMurry.
The picks were similar to the All-Sun Belt first team chosen by the league's coaches and select media members earlier this month, although the conference doesn't have all-league recognition for long snappers. McMurry, a junior from Statesville, has filled that role at App State for 38 consecutive games since the start of the 2015 season. In addition to helping the Mountaineers convert 15 field goals, make 48 extra points and attempt 54 punts with no blocks, McMurry recorded punt-coverage tackles against Savannah State and Wake Forest during the regular season.
Appalachian's second-team selections were quarterback Taylor Lamb and defensive back Tae Hayes, who were both first-team picks in the All-Sun Belt teams released by the grade-driven PFF College Football site.
The Mountaineers were represented on Steele's third team by receiver Ike Lewis, linebacker Devan Stringer, defensive back A.J. Howard and punt returner Thomas Hennigan.
Nunn and Sims were first-team choices on all three of the All-Sun Belt teams.