SkyLine Annual Meeting Scheduled For Sept. 29 (2018-09-19 15:23:45)

The 62nd Annual Meeting of SkyLine Membership Corporation is scheduled for Saturday, September 29, at Ashe County High School in West Jefferson.

SkyLine customers who have active memberships in the cooperative are invited.

Member registration begins in the commons area at 9:30 a.m., followed by the business meeting in the auditorium at 10:30 a.m.

Meeting highlights will include reports from officers, election of directors and recognition of participants of the following SkyLine-sponsored youth programs: the Frank James-SkyLine Scholarship, Foundation for Rural Service (FRS) Scholarship, Cooperative Leadership Camp and FRS Youth Tour.

The following SkyLine directors have been nominated for election to the board for a three-year term: James L. Shepherd (Alleghany County); Jerry Roten (Ashe County); and Tommy Joe Ward (Watauga County).

Additionally, SkyLine, SkyBest and Carolina West Wireless will feature additional educational and informational displays during Member Registration. At the close of the business meeting, several door prizes will be awarded.

From 10 a.m. until the close of the business meeting, activities for children will be held in the band room, led by Katherine Greene of the Ashe County High School Art Department and students from the school’s National Art Honors Society.

Following these activities, a complimentary barbecue lunch catered by Smoky Mountain Barbecue will be served in the school cafeteria. Lunchtime entertainment at this year’s meeting will be Fred Cox and Friends, featuring Aubreana Lovell.

Established in 1951, SkyLine is the largest of eight rural telephone cooperatives in the state. SkyLine and its subsidiaries serve more than 34,000 access lines across a five-county region in northwest North Carolina and east Tennessee.

For more information about the Annual Meeting, call your local SkyLine Customer Center at 1-800-759-2226.