Watauga Board Of Education Installs Board Members (2016-12-15 14:29:58)

The Watauga County Board of Education swore in newly elected board members Monday night.

N.C. District Judge Rebecca Eggers-Gryder administered the oath of office to Barbara Kinsey,  Ron Henries, and Brenda Reese during the December meeting. Reese was elected to serve as board chair.

In addition, Trent Ipock was presented December’s Servant’s Heart Award. Ipock, a U.S. Army veteran, splits his time between the central office and school nutrition at Hardin Park.

Tammie Gelderman with APPkids presented Superintendent Scott Elliott with a donation from Dr. Jerry Butler, who’s office contributed dental services to Watauga County School students in need.

The award-winning Pioneer Playmakers recognized by the board for their achievements. The Pioneer Playmakers recently performed in the N.C. State High School Theater Festival.