Bears Thump North Greenville 51-24 For First Win Of Season (2018-09-09 14:23:37)

TIGERVILLE, S.C. – The Lenoir-Rhyne football team (1-1) dismantled North Greenville (1-1) by a final score of 51-24 on Saturday night. The win was the first under Head Coach Drew Cronic and the first time the Bears scored over 50 points in a game since 2015.

Final: Lenoir-Rhyne 51, North Greenville 24
Records: Lenoir-Rhyne (1-1), North Greenville (1-1)
Location: Younts Stadium | Greenville, S.C.
Get Social: Twitter - @BearsSports | Instagram - @BearsSports | Facebook - /LRbears

• The Bears were held scoreless in the opening quarter and trailed 3-0 after a Matt Gravely 33-yard field goal with 31 seconds left to play. From that point on, the Bears outscored NGU 51-21.
• Sophomore running back Xzavion Huff erupted for three touchdowns in the second quarter. Huff had a 42-yard run and then caught a 69-yard pass on third and long to put the Bears up 20-3. With 1:54 to go, Huff ended the scoring barrage with a 38-yard TD run. The three touchdowns totaled 149 yards.
• The rout continued in the second half as T.J. Smith caught a 73-yard touchdown on the second play of the third quarter. Smith would add an 8-yard TD catch in the fourth quarter to give him three scores on the year, topping his total of two from last year. Smith has two straight 100-yard receiving games to start his senior season.
• Grayson Willingham finished the game with 192 yards and three touchdowns. The sophomore went 9-for-18 in his three quarters of action before giving way to Michael Brown. Brown hit Breshawn Willis for a fourth quarter TD pass.

• The Bears now lead the all-time series 7-3 with this thumping. Last year, the Bears topped the Crusaders 22-10 at Mortez Stadium.
• Jaquay Mitchell scored on a 5-yard touchdown run in the first half, giving Mitchell touchdowns in each of the past two games against the Crusaders.
• The Bears totaled 490 yards on the evening.

LR will host Mars Hill at Moretz Stadium for the home opener. Kickoff is set for 6 p.m. and the game will honor former Athletic Director Neill McGeachy and include postgame fireworks.