Avery Commissioners Sworn In (2016-12-08 13:25:34)

The Avery County Board of Commissioners newly elected members were sworn in at its Dec. 5 meeting.

Commissioners Woodie Young and Tim Phillips were elected to the board last month as new members. Martha Hicks was elected to a third term. Commissioners also voted to return Michaelle Poore to serve as county attorney.  Martha Hicks was elected Board Chair, Blake Vance will serve as vice-chair. Tim Greene will continue as county manager.

According to the Avery Journal, the board also voted to commit $500,000 over the next four years to update iPads and MacBooks for the Avery County Schools “one to one” initiative. As a result of a new interest-free lease with Apple, Avery County Schools and The County will each pay $500,000 over the course of the next four fiscal years. In return, the school system will get 725 MacBooks for students, 200 MacBooks for teachers and staff, new iPads for 3rd and 5th graders and enough tablets to share the technology with pre-schoolers. The school system will sell some of the laptops back to Apple, and use part of that money toward the first payment.